Skip to main content

Editorial Board

Barbara Jensen, Associate Editor

Barbara Jensen pictureBarbara joined BMC Musculoskeletal Disorders, BMC Rheumatology, and BMC Sport Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation in March 2023 as an editor. She obtained her PhD in Medicine, Nephrology at University College London (UCL) in 2018. Afterwards, she stayed at UCL as a postdoctoral research associate where she worked for over 5 years across several fields including molecular genetics, molecular biology, skin and autoinflammatory diseases and gene therapy. During her first postdoctoral position she was involved in developing a gene panel of scleroderma-mimicking diseases before moving on to her second project which focused on exploring and developing gene therapy strategies for rare autoinflammatory diseases. She is passionate about open science and is excited to continue contributing towards making research accessible for everyone and maximizing its impact.

Senior Editorial Board Members

Alessia Alunno

Back to top

New Content ItemAlessia undertook her medical degree, specialty training in Rheumatology and PhD in medical biotechnologies at the University of Perugia, Italy. During her training, she also completed a research fellowship at the Centre for Experimental Medicine and Rheumatology, Queen Mary University of London, United Kingdom. Her research activity mainly focuses on the interplay of T and B lymphocyte subsets and on the identification of novel autoantibodies in Sjögren’s syndrome and rheumatoid arthritis. Over the last decade Alessia gained extensive experience on the immunopathogenesis of rheumatic diseases and co-authored over 80 articles in international peer-reviewed journals. Since 2016 Alessia is assistant professor of rheumatology working at the Rheumatology Unit, University of Perugia, Italy. In 2014 she joined the Editorial Board of BMC Musculoskeletal Disorders as an Associate Editor and became a Senior Editorial Board Member of BMC Rheumatology in 2017.

Antonio LaCava

Back to top

Antonio LaCavaAntonio La Cava, M.D., Ph.D., is Professor of Medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine of the University of California Los Angeles (UCLA), where he directs the UCLA Center of Excellence for the Federation of Clinical Immunology Societies. He serves in the editorial board of many scientific journals and is a member of grant review panels at the NIH and many international scientific Institutions. His research focuses on the mechanisms of immune tolerance and the pathogenesis of autoimmune diseases and is supported by grants from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and by other Foundations. His major interest is the development of effective translational strategies of immune-based intervention, with an emphasis on the characterization of unique properties of regulatory T lymphocytes in animal models of autoimmune disease.

Chang-Hee Suh

Back to top

Chang-Hee is a professor and director of the Rheumatology, Ajou University School of Medicine since March 2010 and director of Clinical Trial Center, Ajou University Hospital since March 2017. He obtained his MS in Medicine and PhD in Rheumatology from Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea. He worked as a postdoctoral Fellow in the Department of Rheumatology, University of Pennsylvania. He has published more than 290 peer-reviewed articles with more than 4,000 citations. His research interest is the pathogenesis of autoimmune disease, diagnostic and disease activity markers in lupus, and development of new disease-specific treatment in autoimmune diseases.

Senior Editorial Board Members
Alessia Alunno, University of Perugia, Italy
Antonio La Cava, University of California Los Angeles, USA
Chang-Hee Suh, Ajou University, South Korea

Editorial Board Members
Adewale Adebajo, University of Sheffield, UK
Fahd Adeeb, RCSI & UCD Malaysia Campus, Malaysia
Deshire Alpizar-Rodriguez, Research Unit, Mexican College of Rheumatology, Mexico
Ram Bajpal, Keele University, UK
Emilio Besada, University of Tromso, The Arctic University of Norway
Emre Bilgin, Hacettepe University Faculty of Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Rheumatology, Turkey
Stephan Bluml, Medical University Vienna, Austria
Carina Boström, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
Angie Botto-van-Bemden, Musculoskeletal Research Institute, USA
Mary Canavan, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Francesco Carubbi, University of L'Aquila, Italy
Hector Chinoy, University of Manchester, UK
Edoardo Cipolletta, Polytechnic University of Marche , Italy
Katie Druce, University of Manchester, UK
Angelo Gaffo, University of Alabama, USA
Rebecca Grainger, University of Otago, New Zealand
Jenny Humphreys, University of Manchester, UK
Md. Asiful Islam, Universiti Sains Malaysia, Malaysia
Sinan Kardeş, Istanbul Faculty of Medicine, Istanbul University, Turkey
Chengappa Kavadichanda, Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research, India
Kerstin Klein, University Hospital Bern, Department of Rheumatology and Immunology, Switzerland
Peter Korsten, University Medical Center Gottingen, Germany
Tue Wenzel Kragstrup, Aarhus University, Denmark
Anand Kumthekar, Montefiore Medical Center - Albert Einstein College of Medicine, USA
Ying Ying Leung, Singapore General Hospital, Singapore
Elena Nikiphorou, King's College London, UK
John Pauling, University of Bath, UK
Federico Perosa, University of Bari, Aldo Moro, Italy
Yves-Marie Pers, CHU Montpellier, France
Pascal Richette, Laribosière Hospital, France
Javier Rodriguez-Carrio, University of Oviedo, Spain
Gokhan Sargin, Adnan Menderes University, Turkey
Savino Sciascia, University of Torino, Italy
Paul Studenic, Medical University Vienna, Austria
Fangfang Sun, Renji Hospital, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
Lisa van-Baarsen, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Thea Vliet Vlieland, Leiden University, Netherlands
Max Yates, University of East Anglia, UK

Annual Journal Metrics

  • 2022 Citation Impact
    2.2 - 2-year Impact Factor
    2.9 - 5-year Impact Factor
    0.891 - SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper)
    0.703 - SJR (SCImago Journal Rank)

    2022 Speed
    18 days submission to first editorial decision for all manuscripts (Median)
    138 days submission to accept (Median)

    2022 Usage 
    1,275 Altmetric mentions 

Peer-review Terminology

  • The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal:

    Identity transparency: Single anonymized

    Reviewer interacts with: Editor

    Review information published: Review reports. Reviewer Identities reviewer opt in. Author/reviewer communication

    More information is available here

Sign up for article alerts and news from this journal